Breen In Boston

Living life in Boston

Cheesy Zucchini with Shallots Garlic and Herbs April 21, 2011

Filed under: 30_for_30,My Life — Breen @ 1:59 pm
Tags: , , ,

Last night, I added another vegetable recipe to my repertoire, slowly adding to my 30 for 30 list goal of acquiring 10 different recipes I can “go to” for sides for dinner. I cooked up some summer squash and zucchini and it was fast, easy and delicious!

Complete Recipe follows.

Here’s what you’ll need:


(Shallot, cilantro, salt and pepper not pictured)

First, chop up your garlic into slices or dice them, whichever you prefer. I did a combination of both, and think that I would just go with sliced garlic from now on. Not only is it faster, but it seemed to work better in the final dish.

Then dice your shallots.

Put a turn or two of Extra Virgin Olive oil in a sauté pan over medium heat. When the oil is heated, add the shallots and onions to the pan and sauté until you can really smell the garlic.

While the shallots and garlic are cooking, chop up your rinsed summer squash and zucchini. Cut your squash in half lengthwise and then cut into half moon shapes.

Once the shallots and garlic have cooked for a minute or two, add the squash and zucchini. You can also add salt and pepper at this step if you want. I added some freshly ground black pepper and a pinch of By The Sea salt, but I might also use Italian seasoning sometimes to change it up a bit.

Cook for about 7 minutes or until the shallots have caramelized and the squash is cooked through. While the squash is cooking, chop your herbs (in my case oregano and cilantro) to add to your squash.

When the squash is finished cooking, turn off the heat and add the herbs and cheese(s) to the pan. I used both Feta and Parmesan because that is what I had on hand. The cheese will melt on the squash and it be oh so delish!


mmm cheesy goodness

Recipe inspired and adapted from Roasted Zucchini with Green Onions, Feta Cheese and Basil and Cheesy Zucchini with Garlic and Parsley both from Kalyn’s Kitchen.


Click on image above for PDF printable version of recipe

This was served with my modified Salmon in a pouch recipe. Here’s a preview of tomorrow’s recipe.


The complete meal

Do you have any great new vegetable side dishes?

 

2 Responses to “Cheesy Zucchini with Shallots Garlic and Herbs”

  1. […] 4. Learn how to cook fish (excluding shellfish) at least 5 different ways [2/5] 5. Learn how to cook at least 10 different vegetable side dishes and include them in weekly meals [3/10] (Cheesy Zucchini) […]

  2. […] promised in yesterday’s post, here is my recipe for Salmon in a Pouch (also contributes to my 30 for 30 list goals). Just for […]


Leave a Reply

